Friday Feel Good

Friday just feels like this today:

Mr. Ritter so awesomely puts out another amazing song that just hits you right in the groove of your heart that makes you smile and want to dance down the street on your way to work. This has been my jam for the last two weeks.

“They said your soul needed savin’ so they sent you off to bible school
But you know a little more than they were sure was in the golden rule
Be good to everybody, be a strength to the weak
A joy to the joyful, the laughter in the grief
And give your love freely to whoever that you please
Don’t let nobody tell you ’bout who you oughta be
And when you get damned in the popular opinion
It’s just another damn of the damns you’re not giving”

These lyrics strike such a huge chord with me, especially about giving love freely. So many times in the past, whenever I gave someone love it was conditional- I always wanted to be loved back or hoped that by giving love to the person that it would make them love me too.

“Give your love freely…”  BAM.

I’ve changed my perspective in the past months, realizing how much love I have to give. I realize now that giving love with no expectation is actually the most freeing feeling in the world. Its okay if the love isn’t returned. Maybe that person you’re giving it to can’t give it back, not now or ever, which is all the more reason to love them anyway. Expectation is the root of all heartache, and by just giving love to everyone, giving it free of expectation is a very powerful and liberating feeling.

I think of how many times I’ve had my heart broken, and also how many times (not as many) I’ve had to break a few hearts- it sucks on both sides, because of expectation. I think about what I expected from my former boyfriends, and what was expected of me, and how that is why things always fell apart. When those prophecies went unfulfilled, there was distress and disappointment. I don’t think we can ever live our lives fully and not experience heart ache; and the journey to give love away freely is one that we must decide to experience entirely ourselves.

A quote that I love from Nicholas Nickelby fits perfectly here:

“In every life, no matter how full or empty one’s purse, there is tragedy. It is the one promise life always fulfills. Thus, happiness is a gift and the trick is not to expect it but to delight in it when it comes. And to add to other people’s store of it.”

Yes. And do so without expectation.

Every time I listen to a Josh Ritter song, I nod my head in agreement and feel encouraged and empowered to keep following my own instincts and feelings. He makes looking forward and continuing on this amazing life journey feel wondrous and exciting and gives me all the hope that I have a future full of love; not the way I imagined it, but better than I ever could.

Leave a Reply

