Friday Playlist on Sunday

Yeah, haha- oops. Totally forgot to post a play list this week! In the spirit of consistency, here it is, just a few days late.

This playlist is actually going to be a bit different. While everyone is enjoying music via Spotify these days, I still prefer Pandora. I chose my favorite station, and decided to share some of my “Thumbs upped” songs. The playlist? Ella Fitzgerald.

I was turned onto Ella a few years ago, and have been grateful ever since. Making this station opened me up to songs and artists that I never listened to before, such as Ruth Brown, Big Mama  Thornton, Dusty Springfield, Lavern Baker, Nina Simone, Mable John, just to name a few.

This is my go to Pandora station when I don’t really feeling like listening to anything else, or when I need to relax. Its one of the best things to do when I’m stressed or upset; just put on this station and let it play for a bit.

So here are some of my favorites.

Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong- Dream a little Dream (For the record, I love EVERYTHING these two collaborate on).

Dusty Springfield- Son of a Preacher Man

Slim Harpo- Rock Me Baby

Dorothy Dandridge- Somebody

Billie Holiday- What a Little Moonlight Can Do

Little Ester- Cherry Wine

Ruth Brown- Be Good to Me Tonight

Nat King Cole- When I Fall in Love

Bo Diddley- You Can’t Judge a Book by Its Cover

Big Mama Thornton- Ball and Chain

Nina Simone- Feeling Good

Louis Jordan- Is you Is or Is you Ain’t my Baby

Aretha Franklin- Ain’t No Way

Have a great week! As always, thanks for stoppin by!

Leave a Reply

